Neoseeker.com Forum Thread: Best motherboard? - page 1

reprinted from http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/
original thread: http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/17/t1774525-best-motherboard/

Author:   slinger4
Date:   Oct 11, 12 at 10:33pm (PST)
Subject:   Best motherboard?
-------------------------------------------
I am looking to build my first computer, and i have a shopping list set up, except i just found out my CPU isn't compatible with my motherboard, so if anyone has any suggestions for a new one i would love to hear them.
Here's the system specs:

Gskill ripjaws 16gb DDR3 1600 RAM

OCZ Vertex 4 128gb ssd

Galaxy geforce GTX 670 4gb GPU

Cooler Master storm trooper case

Intel core i5 3570k CPU

Enermax pro82+ 625w power supply

2 120mm front fans, 1 140mm rear fan, 1 200mm top fan

ASUS 24x DVD burner

Again, this is my first build, so any and all advice would be appreciated.

Author:   hiigaran
Date:   Oct 11, 12 at 10:45pm (PST)
Subject:   re: Best motherboard?
any motherboard with a Z77 chipset will be compatible. id just pick the cheapest board, unless there arent enough places to plug in the fans.

Author:   slinger4
Date:   Oct 11, 12 at 10:56pm (PST)
Would a cheaper board be slower, or just have less features?

Author:   hiigaran
Date:   Oct 11, 12 at 11:01pm (PST)
the motherboard doesnt exactly affect your speeds. it just supports things up to a certain speed, but thats all in the chipset, rather than the motherboard itself. there are only two chipsets to consider for your hardware: Z75 and Z77 (they are similar, but you might as well go with Z77). features may be limited though, yes, but unless you need those features, no point paying for what you wont use.

Author:   PureOCJim
Date:   Oct 14, 12 at 12:28am (PST)
I would state how much you want to spend on a board and surely some will give good suggesstions...

Date:   Nov 04, 12 at 11:27pm (PST)
Subject:   Best motherboard?