Neoseeker.com Forum Thread: How do I get iPod to display MORE information? - page 1

reprinted from http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/
original thread: http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/2537/t604248-how-get-ipod-to-display-more-information/

Author:   NateSutton
Date:   Nov 01, 05 at 6:03am (PST)
Subject:   How do I get iPod to display MORE information?
-------------------------------------------
To Whom It May Concern:
I use my iPod daily as a teaching tool; I'm an associate professor at Indiana University in the jazz department. It is such a joy to carry around hundreds of CDs and be able to access them in an instant. It has completely changed the way I use my music collection, and how I teach my students. I like iTunes well enough, and research all my music very carefully to input the correct year, original album release title, and I use the comment field to list recording date, location, and personnel. This last feature has really revolutionized how I access my music: say I want to give a presentation in class about the stellar contributions of drummer Elvin Jones. If I only look in the Artist field, I'll find very few recordings. But if I'VE entered his name into the comment field of every track he plays on, I can use the search function to use iTunes as a powerful database. Here's my only drawback. The iPod won't display composer, year, or comment. Sure, I can search by composer on the iPod, but if I don't know who wrote a certain song, scrolling through a list of several hundred composers isn't much help. Several times I've played a tune in class, and a student asks, "Who's playing piano on that track?" As it is my music collection, I can usually make an educated guess if I don't know, but I'm often stumped, and have to wait until I get home to check iTunes. Recently, I noticed a remarkable thing: I'd downloaded several excellent podcasts, and was listening on my iPod. I pressed the center button so that I could cycle through the options (volume, track position,