===Story=== From Academy Award nominees Bruce Beresford, Jane Scott, and Jan Sardi comes thet remarkable true story of ballet dancer Li Cunxin. ''Mao's Last Dancer'' stars Chi Cao, a gifted dancer and principal at the Birmingham Royal Ballet making his impressive screen debut as Li. The cast is rounded out by Bruce Greenwood, Kyle MacLachlan, Joan Chen and Amanda Schull. Based on Li's best selling autobiography, ''Mao's Last Dancer'' is the epic story of a young poverty stricken boy from China and his inspirational journey to international stardom as a world-class dancer. The story begins when a young Li is taken from his peasant home by the Chinese government and chosen to study ballet in Beijing. Separated from his family and enduring countless hours of practice, Li struggles to find his place in the new life he has been given. Gaining confidence from a kind teacher's encouraging guidance and a chance trip to America, Li finally discovers that his passion has always been dance. ''Mao's Last Dancer'' weaves a moving tale about the quest for freedom and the courage it takes to live your own life. The film poignantly captures the struggles, triumphs and the intoxicating effects of first love and celebrity amid the pain of exile. ===DVD Features===


Bruce GreenwoodBen Stevenson
Kyle MacLachlanCharles Foster
Joan ChenNiang
Chi CaoLi Cunxin--as an adult
Amanda SchullElizabeth Mackey
Shuangbao WangDia (as Shuang Bao Wang)
Chengwu GuoLi Cunxin--as a teenager
Wen Bin HuangLi Cunxin--as a child
Aden YoungDilworth
Madeline EastoeLori
Camilla VergotisMary McKendry
Penne Hackforth-JonesCynthia Dodds
Jack ThompsonJudge Woodrow Seals
Christopher KirbyMason (as Chris Kirby)
Suzie SteenBetty Lou

  • Genre: Drama Movies
  • Director: Bruce Beresford
  • Producer: Samuel Goldwyn Films
  • Length: 117 Min
  • Aspect ratio: 1.85:1
  • Theatrical Release
    North AmericaAug 20, 2010
    EuropeSep 3, 2010
    JapanAug 28, 2010
    AustraliaOct 1, 2009
  • Ratings
    North AmericaPG
  • Blu-ray Release
    JapanJul 8, 2011
  • DVD Release
    North AmericaJul 26, 2011
    JapanJul 8, 2011
$  Compare Prices
5.0 / 10