Supertalent T1000UX2G5 - PC2-8000 Review

Author: William Henning
Editor: Howard Ha
Publish Date: Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Originally Published on Neoseeker (http://www.neoseeker.com)
Article Link: http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/supertalent_pc2-8000/
Copyright Neo Era Media, Inc. - please do not redistribute or use for commercial purposes.

Today we are looking at SuperTalent's PC2-8000 dual channel memory kit - the T1000UX2G5.

Even before the release of Windows Vista, the amount of memory in your PC has become perhaps the dominant factor of how well your PC will perform - realistically, you will want to have at least 2GB of memory before even trying Vista.

The T1000UX2G5 - to which I will refer to as "SuperTalent PC2-8000" from now on - is a matched pair of high performance memory modules for use in today's memory hungy applications.  DDR2 has taken over as the only mainstream memory, and while newer memory technologies will certainly push it aside in a few years, it will be the mainstay for PC's for at least the next year or two.

The SuperTalent PC2-8000 have the following specifications:

As you can see from the photo's, the memory is covered by a large blue heatspreader - which has a lot of small embossed ridges to increase the surface area available for dissipating heat. During testing, even when significantly beyond specifications, the heatsinks were only lukewarm.

Ok, enough babbling - let's get on with the review!

Test Setup

For this review, we again chose the best performing Intel 975X motherboard we had in house, our excellent Asus P5W DH, and paired it with an Intel Quad Core QX6700!  We will be comparing the Supertalent T1000UX2G5 PC2-8000's with some of the best modules out there - like the OCZ FLEX XLC memory modules we reviewed last week, and Corsair extreme memory, the power house Dominator PC2-8888 which we reviewed last month. Needless to say, this should prove extremely interesting, interesting indeed.

Benchmarks

Software used during testing consisted of the following:

In order to keep the testing as fair as possible, we will use the following test platform:

As normal, we'll discuss our overclocking adventures at the end of the article. However, in the results you'll see in the following pages we include overclocked benchmarks to show you what gains you might get if you also achieved similar overclocks - our test sytems were all stable at the settings shown with air cooling. The chart labels incorporate a lot of information about the test configuration. The first line shows the socket type and the model of the processor. Since all the processors shown are dual core devices, we did not specify that on the charts.

The second line shows the "FSB/HT clock rate" x "CPU multiplier"  and the effective DDR memory speed. Please note that all DDR2 tests were run at 4-4-4-12 timings where possible.

One change from our usual testing strategy that needs to be pointed out is that the P5B-E results for the OCZ PC2-9200 were obtained with an E6400 processor as that was what was installed in that board at that time. The two core vs. four core issue is moot as the memory benchmarks are not multi-threaded (Doom might slightly benefit from the additional cores) and while the 4MB vs. 2MB cache size differences will cause some performance differences, they will be relatively minor for the purposes of this review.

Methodology

As usual, I will be concentrating on seeing how far I can push the Supertalent PC2-8000 memory compared to these other  DIMM's - how fast can they go with a 4-4-4-12 timing?

Given that the 975X is currently one of the best chipsets available, it is not surprising that we were able to obtain excellent results. What you may find surprising is just how much "headroom" these dimm's have for being pushed beyond specifications...

Ok, enough talking... let's get on with the testing!

 

Sandra

At stock, the SuperTalent T1000UX2G5 did pretty much as we would expect; and when overclocked, it did much better than I would have expected, reaching a respectable 1069MHz with 4-4-4-12 timing!

Given that the modules are only rated to 1000MHz with 5-5-5-15 timing, that is quite an achievement.

We should not be surprised that some other modules performed better - really - it would be wholly unexpected if PC9200 modules did not beat out PC8000 modules!

The OCZ PC2-9200 modules we reviewed recently took the honors in Sandra.

 

RightMark Read

The Supertalent PC2-8000 performed as we would have expected at stock settings, however it did quite well when overclocked, taking the top spot for this chart.

RightMark Write

Unfortunately the SuperTalent PC2-8000 did not fair nearly as well for writes. At stock, it had the second lowest result, and when overclocked, its best result finished fifth in the field. 

 

RightMark Latency

The SuperTalent PC2-8000 did quite well on the latency benchmarks when overclocked, coming in second place overall, and finishing where we would expect it to at stock speeds.

RightMark Bandwidth

The bandwidth performance at stock was acceptable, and the overclocked performance was outstanding, taking second place behind the OCZ PC2-9200.

WinRAR

WinRAR loves this memory. At stock the SuperTalent PC2-8000 did as well as we could expect, but when overclocked, it took two of the top three spots, including first place. Not bad at all!!!

Doom 3

And I thought WinRAR liked this memory.

Again, at stock, the performance was quite decent - but when overclocked - oh my - it took both first and second place!

Overclocking

The SuperTalent T1000UX2G5 PC2-8000 memory was a decent overclocker, but it could not match the overclocking capabilities of the Corsair DOMINATOR XMS2-PC8888 ($671) nor the OCZ Flex XLC PC2-9200 ($449) that we had recently reviewed - but keeping in mind that at $289 it is significantly cheaper than those higher speed modules and offers tremendous value. (Prices listed as of March 12, 2007 at leading web shops)

Raising the memory voltage did not appear to significantly improve the overclockability of the modules, and no matter how hard I tried I was unable to run them with any real stability at frequencies higher than 1100MHz with a 5-5-5-15 timing - and I had to reduce the processor speed just to hit even this target.

The modules are rated at 1000-5-5-5-15 but they readily ran at 1000-4-4-4-12 which in my opinion is significantly superior to 1100-5-5-5-15

As a matter of fact, the SuperTalent modules were able to run at up to 1069-4-4-4-12 at the default 2.2V, so they exceeded PC8500 at 4-4-4-12 - which in my opinion is excellent performance for memory only rated at PC8000 5-5-5-15!

Conclusion

The SuperTalent PC2-8000's are best described as mid-range memory.

They cost more than the lower end PC5400 / PC6400 dual channel kits, however, they do cost significantly less than the higher end very high speed/low latency modules. Given where they are in the price/performance range, I cannot help but be very well satisfied with their performance.

Any time you can get a pair of modules that are rated for 1000MHz at 5-5-5-15 timing, and you are able to run them at 1069MHz at 4-4-4-12 timing, you ought to be quite happy.

Frankly, a pair of these modules provides more theoretical bandwidth than a Socket 775 processor boasting a high 1333MHz FSB. Current chips cannot even begin to touch these speeds due to inherent FSB limitations - even if we were to ignore cache coherency traffic and the bus overhead, a 1333MHz FSB has a empirical bandwidth ceiling of 10.6GB/sec; but in reality a 1066MHz FSB is limited to less than 8.5GB/sec - and a dual channel memory controller, again ignoring latencies and overhead issues, could approach 16GB/sec at 1000MHz!

Basically, these modules are a great deal and earn our Value award for excellent bang for your buck.

Our friends at OverClockersClub also reviewed these PC2-8000 T1000UX2G5 modules from SuperTalent and awarded it a Recommended award.

»Neoseeker.com

Copyright Neo Era Media, Inc., 1999-2014.
All Rights Reserved.

Please do not redistribute or use this article in whole, or in part, for commercial purposes.