Neoseeker : : : : Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-8000 DDR2 Review & 975X Memory Performance Roundup

Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-8000 DDR2 Review & 975X Memory Performance Roundup - PAGE 1

- Thursday, January 18th, 2007 Like Share






Get updates when we publish new articles

Comments

Sort by date: ascending descending
0 thumbs!
^
Iceguy2003 Jan 19, 07
Looks to be a nice overclocker. Nice review. I just have a question... when you were comparing the RAM in benchmarks, is it just me, or was the ballistic tracer RAM always running at a higher speed? If so, wouldn't you expect to see higher performance, or was that the whole point of the test? To see what could get the highest @ 4-4-4-12 and then compare those speeds? You should have thrown the Corsair DDR2 1100 in there for fun ;-).
0 thumbs!
^
bhenning Jan 19, 07
Hi,

Thanks for the kind words

The article was meant as a review of the Tracer PC2-8000, however given that this was the first memory review I did on 975X with a Kentsfield, I also re-benchmarked three other good sets of memory.

For all four modules, I benched at:

- 800-4-4-4-12 (except the Corsair PC8500 would not post at that setting so I used 800-5-5-5-15 for it) with 1066 FSB for the CPU

- 832-4-4-4-12 1333 CPU FSB

- 1000-4-4-4-12 (except the OCZ which could not handle that setting)

After that, I tried to run at 1066-4-4-4-12 with a 1333FSB - only the Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-8000 and the Corsair XMS-2 PC2-8500 managed that setting - which by the way is overspec for both modules

After that, I tried to see what the fastest xxxx-4-4-4-12 setting with a 1333FSB was that I could achieve on all four modules, and I showed the intermediate data in case people were interested.

The intent was simple... to find out how fast these modules could go with a great 975X board and a Kentsfield, running on a 1333FSB at a 4-4-4-12 timing

I do not have the Corsair 1100 otherwise I'd have thrown it in... however I've got a LOT more high end memory coming, expect quite a few more ddr2 reviews and comparisons soon!

--------------------------------
Looks to be a nice overclocker.Nice review. I just have a question... when you were comparing the RAM in benchmarks, is it just me, or was the ballistic tracer RAM always running at a higher speed? If so, wouldn't you expect to see higher performance, or was that the whole point of the test? To see what could get the highest @ 4-4-4-12 and then compare those speeds? You should have thrown the Corsair DDR2 1100 in there for fun ;-).
0 thumbs!
^
Iceguy2003 Jan 19, 07
Ah, I'm looking forward to more. Then I'll know what kind of DDR2 to be looking at for my next system. Yeah, there was a ton of great data in that review, and that kind of work is time consuming, good job and nice work.
0 thumbs!
^
Anonymous Jan 19, 07
Yeah, these reviews are usually a great learning tool.

bhenning, check your NeoPM inbox.
0 thumbs!
^
dark41 Jul 16, 07
I like the review as I'm considering the Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8000. Thanks for the work you put into the article.

One thing that stood out to me though is your results with the Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400. I have 2 (2x1g) sets of this RAM on 965P chipsets and my results are quite different to yours. Both run at 4-3-3-8 timings up to 900MHz. At that point I have to relax timings to 4-4-4-12 and can get up to 960MHz. By relaxing the timings to 5-5-5-15 I can achieve 1200MHz. (SPD states 4-4-4-12 @ 400MHz and 5-5-5-15 @ 500MHz) All of this is at 2.1v and both sets of RAM perform identically. My opinion is that the PC2-6400 is some of the best performance RAM on the market because of these results.

So do you think Crucial made modifications to the PC2-6400 at some point after you reviewed it, or are the results on the 965P just that much superior to the 975X?

This message was edited by dark41 on Aug 14 2007.
0 thumbs!
^
dark41 Jul 16, 07
Anyone?

I realize this thread is 7 months old. The reason I ask is that my Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 is performing basically the same as the reviewed Crucial PC2-8000. It really wouldn't be worth the extra money to buy 8000 for me unless it ran better on the 965P or was revised by Crucial since the review.
0 thumbs!
^
dark41 Aug 19, 07
Oh well. I guess it's not worth upgrading to me for few measley MHz more. The Crucial Ballistix PC6400 overclocks to 1200MHz stable and seems to run within a second of the PC2-8000 at 1MB on SuperPi.

http://www.ultramaxcc.com.au/images/bestsuperpi.jpg
0 thumbs!
^
dark41 Aug 22, 07
Actually I'll have some Ballistix PC2-8500 in house tomorrow to test (got it for the same price as the PC2-6400), so I'll know for sure. But the best I've seen posted to date is 1280MHz with the 8500, and 1210MHz on the 6400. Either way, Ballistix rocks.
0 thumbs!
^
Scott_ill Aug 24, 07
I take it the corsair ram used was the standard PC8500 and not the dominator sticks?

I was very close to buying Crucial as part of my upgrade. Impressive results and guarenteed to undercut the competition pricewise.

Also, in writemark bench shouldn't the average M/B per sec be taking as the bench statistic rather than the max reached as that gives a clearer indication of performance over time?

This message was edited by Scott_ill on Aug 24 2007.
0 thumbs!
^
dark41 Aug 25, 07
After testing, I still think the Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 is a better bargain than the Ballistix PC2-8500.

I've got 1210MHz max with the 6400, and 1235MHz max with the 8500. Also, CPU-Z 1.40.5 shows the 8500 as 6400. Makes me wonder if they aren't the exact same chip with different labels.
0 thumbs!
^
SoulStalker Jan 18, 08
I recently bought another set of 2x1gb crucial ballistix and installed it, i already had a set of 2x1gb crucial ballistix installed even before this. When i went to install i started up the computer, they were glowing normally with the blinking LED's, and then it just decided to freeze at the bios message. It does this everytime, i went to uninstall it and everything worked fine again, when i started the comp when the new set was installed, the harddrive light would never blink. Idk if it's disabling the harddrive somehow or what, but i'm really sure they're not DOA because they're still blinking and glowing on the motherboard. Can anyone help? my specs are 2.4ghz intel dual core, 8800gts nvidia, 700wPSU, 2gbx1 crucial ballistix (hope to get the other set installed if i can fix this) windows xp (it says it can use up to 4gb of mem even 32 bit edition) and 150gb raptor WD, plz help, i really hope to run 4gb of this and see what they can do
0 thumbs!
^
URLORD Jan 19, 08
I love my Tracer, I've overclocked to 1270mhz 5-5-5-18 but I prefer the tighter timings as you can see in my sig.
^
Sponsored
Sort by date: ascending descending
Add your comment:
Name *:  Members, please LOGIN
Email:  We use this to display your Gravatar.

Sign in with
Comment *:
(0.1759/d/web6)